Zen Living | Fast Co. Cray-Cray For Taoist Way

THE ART OF LETTING GO: HOW I LEARNED TO STOP PROCRASTINATING

Image

IF DISTRACTIONS & FALSE NEEDS ARE CONTROLLING YOUR LIFE… ZEN HABITS’ COLUMNIST FROM FAST COMPANY MAGAZINE SHARES WHY YOU NEED TO LET GO.

I’d paraphrase the article & share insight. There’s nothing I can say about Zen. However, I can talk about pain and our reactions to it. The duality of existence and reasoning from the idea that we spend an immense amount of energy to avoid pain… there’s nothing we can do to avoid pain… people procrastinate to avoid  discomfort of whatever it is that’s unpleasant… or painfully being avoided.  Image

Yet again, I find it crazy to consider Zen as a guide post in a business publication or technology/entrepreneurship website/blog. Not but ten years back I discovered a man who is not a guru… but a common man. Alan Watts

Image

It was through his lectures recorded on all manner of topics… sex, drugs, death and religion among others, that really shook me. He put Eastern thought into terms I could understand. Frankly, that’s what he’s known for. 

Regardless, what I’ll take this moment to say… no matter how trendy Zen or Taoism may become. For whatever reason, seeking to selflessly enrich yourself is a catch twenty-two.

The ego is the enemy. 

I’m not going to waste any time pointing out inconsistencies or flaws in the article. Honestly, I didn’t notice any. If I had why not celebrate them? Furthermore… I guess what I find significant here today is again… having adopted a belief system that has parts from many faiths…

The Way of Zen is most profound & Liberating. While this isn’t a review, but rather an affirmation of the article linked below… it was short. As I skimmed the half page… when I noticed the quote below I immediately conceded. I could no longer procrastinate writing this blog post… and poking fun at how insane it is the way of being I found and adopted has become a part of the technology news stream where I have quenched the thirst for tech news, insight and now thoughtful advice.

Bravo Fast Company.  

“You can only lose what you cling to.” –Buddha

|  Read The Full Fast Company Online Story 

 
Standard

Leave a Reply

